A Game of Packing

I have done myself proud, and been totally restrained with my packing.   The result is one large suitcase which is HALF EMPTY.  And as a glass half full kinda girl, I see that as half a large suitcase which must be filled with loot for the return journey!  Perhaps I can also knuckle in on Cam’s space (shh, don’t tell him, he’s fiercly protective of his own 3/4 empty suitcase).

Being male and straight, Cam has packed one pair each of jeans and shorts, six t-shirts, and is taking ONE (1) pair of shoes.  His theory is that he will be overtaken by a strange New York spirit force that will enter his body and send him on crazed shopping sprees where he will buy enough to last him for the next five years.  Somewhat strange, for a guy who would normally rather stick pins in his eyes than enter into a clothing shop (let alone be forced to interact with the sales assistants).

The kids have been farewelled in fine spirits, and without so much as a tear (it was me I was worried about there).  Excellent.

In order to quell my anxiety about leaving them, I must admit to going a little OCD with the lists and instructions.  Behold: The Instructions Wall!  Everywhere you look, there are calendars (one for parents, the other for children), itineraries, instructions, lunch box guides, house rules, morning checklists – you name it, I’ve made it, and had it laminated.

So If all goes to plan from here, the next update should be from our little apartment near the West Village.  Over and out.

Leave a Reply

