No. 64 Perry St

Our apartmentOn to stage two of our New York experience, and our residence is in the West Village, downtown, where streets are leafy and hipsters plentiful.

Unfortunately, Cam is lacking a Ned Kelly style beard and black rimmed spectacles, so that kind of gives us away as tourists.  But the good thing about the hipsters, is that wherever they go, proper coffee can be found.

We’re staying in a lovely, serene little apartment that looks out over a church roof and a leafy courtyard.  I am so envious of the owner of this apartment.  Who are these people who live here and go about their lives in this amazing city?  Anyway, for the next seven days, it’s ours.

Now, on to some random New York moments:

He’s when I purchased a gigantic pretzel (it was taunting me – I had to).

Yes, it's a big pretzelHere’s Cam’s ‘amazing!?!’ face, after he found this rare vinyl at a record shop in the Village.  Incredulous CamAnd here we both are at Murray’s Cheese Bar, partaking in some pre-dinner cheese and wine wanking.  Actually it was cheese and beer wanking for me.

Murray's Cheese Bar

No. 64 Perry St

A shopping afternoon in East Village with my friend Sally was pretty fun.  We lunched and we shopped and we walked until my feet nearly gave up on me.  Today I had to seek out some ‘flip flops’ uptown, to give my blisters a break (can I tell you how hard it is to find Havaianas in this city??).

I also have to disclose, at this stage, that I have taken a certain pilgrimage, as have thousands before me.  I googled it.  I sought it out.  I made Sally take a picture of me on Carrie’s stoop.  I know it’s silly for a grown woman to do, but I did it, and here it is (don’t judge me, okay?).

Joan Holloway

Joan Holloway (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After our shopping expedition, where I acted as buyers’ advocate for Sally, assisting her in the purchase of a few new dresses and some awesome shoes, we happend upon Enz’s. This is where I found The Dress.  My New York Dress.  My favourite, special, I-can-be-Joan-Holloway-from-Madmen-if-I-close-my-eyes-and-wish dress.  When I have occasion to wear it, I will blog it, you can be certain.

For the time being, you can look at Joan here and imagine I am her.

5 thoughts on “No. 64 Perry St

  1. ok, so I’m totes jealous. there’s no judging you about having photo taken on Carrie’s stoop. As long as you were 3 glasses into the afternoon, then it’s totally acceptable.

    Now marn, I’m emailing you my order… check your emails! I can’t stand the fact your doing so much shopping without me. Sitting under a blanket with red wine and ice-cream isn’t even helping. Not. Helping!

    Emailing you so don’t bore others.

    xx

  2. That’s awesome marnie. I really need to add that I found that dress for you… And I look forward to seeing it on you!

    • Thank you Sally Shaw. I believe that you did pick that out for me, and encourage me very strongly to buy it. When will I get to wear it!!? And now I need The Shoes that will match it!!

Leave a Reply

