So Long New York City

Soho streetsWhat a magic last day.  Thank you New York for turning on blue skies and warm breezes, as we hoofed it around the streets for one last tour.  Over to Union Square, down to Soho, across to East Village and back (and that was just the morning).

I have never walked as much in my life as I have in the last two weeks.  And l think it befitting that I have never bought as many pairs of shoes in the space of two weeks.  We are now just hoping that the suspiciously cheap  extra suitcase we have acquired will survive the trip home with our precious cargo.

Something you should know about New York City, is that there is a serious shortage of public toilets.  In our situation, this results in a self-perpetuating problem: need toilet so head for nearest bar -> purchase beverage to allow use of toilet facilities -> need toilet again an hour later -> head to nearest bar -> purchase beverage…  You see the problem here?  This is Cam, ruminating over the issue at one of our many pitstops yesterday.pitstop

Los AmericanosWe took the opportunity to revisit one of our favourite establishments on our last day.  Los Americanos in Tribeca – seriously the most amazing vibe, incredible Mexican food, and as cheap as chips.  It inspired a conversation we had, about exploring great gluten friendly cuisines of the world.  The idea is that Cam cooks, and I blog about it – genius!

On the shopping front, I had to stop in at Sephora, on an important errand for a friend back home.  A world of cosmetics!  However, Cam was getting antsy, so it was probably for the best when I handed my list to the nearest salesperson.  She spirited me around the store popping things into my handbasket a mile a minute, and we were out of there in a jiffy.  Miss Marty – the jobs done.

High LineI also had to revisit Enz’s one last time.  I had an inkling there would be good-bye present waiting for me, and I was on the money.  Enter The Jeans.  Forties style, high waisted, rolled up blue denim loveliness.  I have been looking for a pair of these suckers forever.

And when I say high waisted, I mean it.  Cam initially balked at their, um, highness, but was won over by Mariann (owner and designer), who quickly set him straight.  You can see me here, posing on the High Line, after a quick stop home for a costume change.  Just go ahead and call me Harry High Pants – I know that’s what you’re thinking.

And now I find myself awake at 6am, eating a (seriously good) cookie and contemplating the epic task of packing.  We fly out tonight, homeward bound to see our two beautiful little mites.  Man, I’ve missed them.  They have apparently behaved like angels for their grandparents (although we have the feeling that they will instantly morph into Satan’s spawn the moment the grandies are out the door).  Oh well, it’s a fair cop I suppose, after our two weeks in this wonderland of eating, drinking, shopping and sleeping.

And for those of you who have already visited this amazing city, you can imagine how we feel about saying good-bye: a little bit heartbroken.

So long New York City.  You’re the shiznit.

They misspelt it!

9 thoughts on “So Long New York City

  1. Where do I start? Great highpants. Great shots of Cam with drink. Great take on the children/spawn adventure when you return. Great summary of what it is to say goodbye to New York. F@#k that’s a good city. Well done you.

    • Well Sal. I hope you’re having a blast in Florida (whenever I think of it, I imagine Jerry Seinfeld’s parents – especially his dad with the long white socks and shorts). Looking forward to having you home. Good luck for the flight! x

  2. O
    Marnie
    I feel sorry for cam and you (and for Sal Jon too).
    But – you got the jeans, lived the dream- time to come home to spawn.
    See you soon (tonight too soon) for homestyle wines and photo gazing.

    Xxxx

  3. Pingback: I can see clearly now | Life is a Minestrone

Leave a Reply

